Pinnacle finalists announced by SMP-Pine Belt


Sales & Marketing Professionals-Pine Belt has announced 24 regional finalists for the 2019 Pinnacle Awards. The annual awards recognize, promote and honor excellence, professionalism and outstanding achievement in Sales and Marketing in The Pine Belt.

“SMP’s Pinnacle Awards represent an opportunity to recognize successful public relations colleagues for their efforts and achievements in 2018,” said Michael Marks, Chair of the 2019 event. “This year’s community-nominated finalists are exceptional.”

Among the individuals and businesses slated to be honored for their sales and marketing efforts at The March 19 Awards Gala are:

• Albert & Robinson Architects, PLLC

• Aldersgate Mission

• Janet Baldwyn, Osceola McCarty Youth Development Center

• Matt Bush/Forrest General Hospital Digital Marketing Manager and Freelance Photographer

• Elegant Evenings by Jalin 

• Shawn Harris, Regions 

Bank/United Way Chair

• Hattiesburg Coca-Cola Bottling Company

• Hattiesburg Hall of Fame

• Hattiesburg High School Athletics

• Hotel Indigo-Hattiesburg

• Howard Technology Solutions

• Jones County Chamber of Commerce

• The Midtowner

• Oak Grove High School Drama

• The Perfect Performance

• Pierce Family Dentistry

• Pine Belt Diaper Bank

• Pine Burr Area Council/Boy Scouts of America

• Elizabeth Porter/Attorney

• Samone Wilson – Hattiesburg Public Schools Community Engagement

• Dean Meador Smith/Best-Selling Author

• Southern Bone & Joint

• Southern Miss Alumni Association

• Special Olympics MS – Hub City Region


One of the 24 finalists will be named individual excellence winner and another will be designated as the outstanding business. At the end of the evening, the 2019 Pinnacle Award winner will be announced from the finalists. This year, the awards are dedicated to the late Bud Kirkpatrick and the late Charlie Holt, SMP members who were recently honored with resolutions for exceptional public relations work by the Mississippi Legislature. The Pinnacle Awards traditionally bear the names of these two marketing icons. The 2018 Pinnacle Winner was Robert St. John’s healthy food philanthropy, Extra Table.

According to SMP President Paige Crane, future marketing professionals will also be recognized at the event.  “SMP will award a $1000 Rising Star Scholarship to a graduating high school senior, who intends to pursue a career in business, marketing or sales. A silent auction will be held in conjunction with the event to generate future scholarship revenue.”

Miss Hattiesburg Macy Mitchell will handle emcee duties at this year’s event, which will be staged at the Trent Lott National Center on the campus of Southern Miss.  Other entertainers will include Mississippi Miss Hospitality Anna McDaniel, Oak Grove High School actress Emmie Perkins, Eyeshia McSwain and The Hattiesburg High School String Quintet, under the direction of Jorge Gonzales.

The event is open to the public and tickets, $35 for members and $45 for nonmembers, can be purchased online at: of nominees may also purchase tables for 8 and/or secure ads in the gala souvenir program.  Process questions may be directed to Michael Marks at 601-520-2666 or visit