Reynolds, Sandlin named to C Spire Ferriss Trophy finalists list


JACKSON – Southern Miss third baseman Luke Reynolds (Forest, Miss.) and Golden Eagle right-handed pitcher Nick Sandlin (Evans, Ga.) collected two of the five finalist spots for the 2018 C Spire Ferriss Trophy, which goes to the most outstanding college baseball player in the state in an announcement made Monday morning.

These five finalists and their coaches will be invited to a luncheon banquet held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on Monday, May, 21. This is the 15th Annual Ferriss Trophy presentation and is named after Boo Ferriss, who starred for the Boston Red Sox prior to a long career as baseball coach at Delta

State University.

"This year may be the toughest choices in the history of the event," said Hall of Fame Executive Director Bill Blackwell. "With so many schools ranked nationally at all levels you know there must be great players throughout the state."

Joining the two Golden Eagles are Delta State star first baseman Zack Shannon, Mississippi State outfielder Jake Mangum and Ole Miss outfielder/infielder Ryan Olenek.

Fans can help select the winner of the prestigious award by voting at beginning at 5 p.m., Monday and continuing through noon on SaturdayMay, 19.

"This is a great opportunity for fans of each player to have a chance to influence the outcome of the vote," Blackwell said. "C Spire gives everyone the opportunity to vote just like MLB does for their All-Star game."

Tickets for the luncheon are on sale now at the Hall of Fame's website or at their offices located at 1152 Lakeland Drive in Jackson. Tables, half tables and individual tickets are available for the event that begins at 11:30. Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer, Jay Powell will be the guest speaker at the event.