C-USA Baseball Tournament bracket announced


IRVING, Texas -- Southern Miss won its fifth outright regular season Conference USA title and second in a row, making the No. 13 Golden Eagles the No. 1 seed at the 2018 C-USA Baseball Championship, presented by The First, at MGM Park in Biloxi, Miss., May 23-27.  Southern Miss (39-15 overall) won eight of its 10 conference series’- with one tie - and finished with a 23-6 record in league play, becoming the first team in C-USA history to win 23 conference games or more in back-to-back seasons. 

The Championship will feature the top eight teams in regular season league play.  The format is two double-elimination brackets with four teams each, with the winners of each bracket meeting in a single-elimination championship game.  Rice is the defending champion.

The tournament will begin at 9 a.m. Wednesday when No. 6 seed FIU (26-26) faces No. 3 seed Florida Atlantic (36-15-1).  These south Florida rivals split the two regular season games between the clubs in Miami during the first weekend in May.  The Owls finished the regular season on a four-game winning streak, while the Panthers closed with victories in five of their last six outings.

The second game will feature No. 7 Rice (24-29-2) against No. 2 seed Louisiana Tech (38-18) at 12:30 p.m. CT.  This will be the final Conference USA Championship for Owls Hall of Fame head coach Wayne Graham, who has led Rice to seven C-USA tournament titles.  The Bulldogs, picked to finish seventh in the preseason, won eight of their 10 conference series’ to earn a second place showing in the final regular season standings.

Top-seeded Southern Miss will look to become the ninth team in league history to win an outright regular season title and a postseason tournament crown in the same year and the first since Rice in 2014.  The Golden Eagles will play the 4 p.m. CT game, matching up with No. 8 seed UAB (21-31).  Southern Miss took all three games in the regular season meetings in Birmingham in April.

Opening day action will conclude with No. 4 Charlotte (31-22) taking on No. 5 UTSA (31-22).  These teams just finished the regular season against each other, with the Roadrunners taking two-of-three in San Antonio.  This is the second straight year that UTSA’s opening round opponent is the same team it played to close out the regular season and it is the second straight year that Charlotte is the No. 4 seed.

The 2018 C-USA Championship will be played a neutral site for the second year in a row and the seventh time in the league’s history.  Four year old MGM Park, located on the waterfront in Biloxi, Mississippi, will be the host venue of the league’s 23rd championship.  The Championship Game on Sunday, May 27 will be nationally-televised by CBS Sports Network, while all other games will be available on ESPN3 and the Watch ESPN app.

Game Schedule

Wednesday, May 23 (available on ESPN3)

Game 1                (6) FIU vs. (3) Florida Atlantic                              9:00a

Game 2                (7) Rice vs. (2) Louisiana Tech                           12:30p

Game 3                (8) UAB vs. (1) Southern Miss                              4:00p

Game 4                (5) UTSA vs. (4) Charlotte                                    7:30p

Thursday, May 24 (available on ESPN3)

Game 5                Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2                          9:00a

Game 6                Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4                         12:30p

Game 7                Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2                    4:00p

Game 8                Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4                    7:30p

Friday, May 25 (available on ESPN3)

Game 9                Winner Game 5 vs. Loser game 7                        3:00p

Game 10              Winner Game 6 vs. Loser game 8                        6:30p

Saturday, May 26 (available on ESPN3)

Game 11              Winner Game 7 vs. Winner game 9                     9:00a

Game 12              Winner Game 8 vs. Winner game 10                  12:30p

Game 13              Same teams as Game 11              4:00p (if necessary)

Game 14              Same teams as Game 12              7:30p (if necessary)

Sunday, May 27 (televised by CBS Sports Network)

Championship Game                                                                        1:00p

All Times Central