DYW: Nine young ladies will compete for Lamar County title


Nine young women will contend for cash scholarships and other prizes through competition areas of self-expression, fitness, talent, scholastics and a panel interview on their way to trying to win the title of “Distinguished Young Woman” of Lamar County.

This year’s participants include: Rachael Barbieri, Magnolia Cagle, Emma Cochran, Katherine Fasnacht, Elizabeth Hodge, Elise Holbrook, Mannon Koome, Madison Lawler, and Shruti Madhav.

This year’s competition kicks off at 7 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 25 at the Historic Hattiesburg Saenger Theater downtown.

Distinguished Young Women (formerly Junior Miss) is a national scholarship program that inspires high school girls to develop their full, individual potential through a fun, transformative experience that culminates in a celebratory showcase of their accomplishments.

• By encouraging continued education and providing college scholarships

• By developing self-confidence and the abilities to interview effectively, to speak publicly, to perform on stage and to build interpersonal relationships

• By encouraging and showcasing excellence in academic achievement, physical fitness, on-stage performance skills, and the ability to think and communicate clearly

• By creating opportunities to beneficially inspire the lives of others

Tickets to the event are $20 and are available online at www.hattiesburgsaenger.com and will also be available at the door.


1. Rachael Barbieri

2. Magnolia Cagle

3. Emma Cochran

4. Katherine Fasnacht

5. Elizabeth Hodge

6. Elise Holbrook

7. Mannon Koome

8. Madison Lawler

9. Shruti Madhav.