Friends of SMSH award scholarships


Lane Patrick and Mayantionette Watson were each awarded a $500 scholarship by Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital at the hospital's January Employee Celebration.

The scholarships are made possible by an educational expense reimbursement program estab-

lished by the Friends of SMSH board of directors in late 2013 with the intent of assisting eligible South Mississippi State Hospital employees with expenses for continuing education.  

Funding is provided through the Friends budget and contributions by other donors. The program's goal is to assist employees with the expense of continuing education that will benefit the student and hospital.

Patrick has worked as a Registered Nurse at SMSH since July 2011. He is pursuing a Bachelor's degree through the accelerated online nursing program at University of Texas at Arlington. He is a resident of Lamar County and graduated Sumrall High School with honors in 2004. Following his honorable discharge from the United States Marine Corps, he earned an Associate's Degree in Nursing from Pearl River Community College in May 2011.

Watson has been employed as an RN at SMSH since March 2014, part of which she also served as unit coordinator.  In October 2017, she was promoted to Performance Improvement coordinator, where she helps ensure the hospital's compliance with Joint Commission standards. 

Watson earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing in December 2009 and completed a Master's of Science in Nursing in the Health Care Systems Management program at Loyola University of New Orleans School of Nursing in 2017. 

She is now pursuing a Ph.D. in Nursing Leadership at the University of Southern Mississippi. Watson is a Lamar County resident and a 2004 graduate of Liberty County High School in Hinesville, Georgia.

 Friends of SMSH is a volunteer-based, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting an understanding of mental health and the needs of individuals with mental illness, improving the quality of life for patients and providing recognition and support for hospital employees.