2022 Elections


Welcome to the information page for the 2022 elections!
This page will be updated as the General Election grows closer (so be sure to stop by over time for new information).


Key Tips:

1. Polls are open on Election Day from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

2. The deadline for voter registration is October 10.

3. You can see the full list of competing candidates below or download the 2022 sample ballot here.

4. More information (and answers to other questions) can be found on the Mississippi Secretary of State website.


How do I register to vote in Mississippi?

Every United States citizen has the right to vote in federal, state, and local elections, so long as they meet the following criteria:

1. A resident of Mississippi and the county, city, or town for 30 days;

2. 18 years of age or older;

3. Not declared mentally incompetent by a court; and,

4. Not convicted in a Mississippi court of arson, armed robbery, bigamy, bribery, carjacking, embezzlement, extortion, felony bad check, felony shoplifting, forgery, larceny, murder, obtaining money or goods under false pretense, perjury, rape, receiving stolen property, robbery, statutory rape, theft, timber larceny, larceny under lease or rental agreement, or unlawful taking of motor vehicle (unless having been pardoned, had rights of citizenship restored by the Governor or had suffrage restored by the Legislature.)

Mail-In Registration Applications are available at your Circuit Clerk’s Office, Municipal Clerk’s Office, public library, and other participating government offices.

Also, Mail-In Registration Applications may be downloaded here.


What forms of photo ID are required on Election Day?
Any of the following photo IDs may be used:

• A driver’s license
• A photo ID issued by a branch, department or entity of the State of Mississippi
• A United States passport
• A government employee ID card
• A firearms license
• A student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college or community/junior college
• A United States military ID
• A tribal photo ID
• Any other photo ID issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the United States government or
 any State government
• A Mississippi Voter Identification Card

May a voter use an expired photo ID on Election Day?
Yes, as long as it is an acceptable form of photo ID (see list above) and is not more than ten (10) years old. The expired ID must contain the name and photograph of the voter, and have been validly issued by the federal or a state government.


Locate Polling Place


The tool below will provide your polling location:


Election Information by County


The tool below will provide all necessary contact details by county:


Elections Taking Place


There are 4 main regularly-scheduled elections taking place on November 08, 2022:

Federal Offices: United States Representative

State District Offices: Court of Appeals Judge, Circuit Court Judge, Chancery Court Judge


Listed below are the various candidates for each election:

United States Representative



- Dianne Black  (Democratic Party)

- Trent Kelly (Incumbent) (Republican Party)



- Brian Flowers  (Republican Party)

- Bennie Thompson  (Incumbent) (Democratic Party)



- Michael Guest  (Incumbent) (Republican Party)

- Shuwaski A. Young (Democratic Party)



- Johnny L. DuPree  (Democratic Party)

- Mike Ezell  (Republican Party)

- Alden Patrick Johnson  (Libertarian Party)


Court Of Appeals Judge



- Bruce W. Burton (Nonpartisan)

- Virginia Carlton (Nonpartisan)



- Joel Smith (Nonpartisan)

- Clay Caldwell (Nonpartisan)




Chancery Court Judge



- Gayla Carpenter-Sanders (Nonpartisan)

- Tametrice E. Hodges (Nonpartisan)

- Damon R. Stevenson (Nonpartisan)



- Renia A. Anderson (Nonpartisan)

- Debra M. Giles (Nonpartisan)



- Cynthia Lee Brewer (Nonpartisan)

- Abby G. Robinson (Nonpartisan)



- David Shoemake (Nonpartisan)

- Albert Turnage (Nonpartisan)



- Ashley Cole (Nonpartisan)

- Tanya Hasbrouck (Nonpartisan)



Circuit Court Judge



- Lisa P. Dodson (Nonpartisan)

- Stephen J. Maggio (Nonpartisan)



- Shirley Byers (Nonpartisan)

- J. Kelly Luther (Nonpartisan)



- Doug S. Crosby (Nonpartisan)

- Doug Evans (Nonpartisan)

- Alan D. 'Devo' Lancaster (Nonpartisan)

- Zachary A. Madison (Nonpartisan)

- Kasey Burney Young (Nonpartisan)



- Lydia Roberta Blackmon (Nonpartisan)

- Carmen Brooks Drake (Nonpartisan)

- Scott J. Pintard (Nonpartisan)



- Debra W. Blackwell (Nonpartisan)

- Timothy David Blalock (Nonpartisan)

- Eileen M. Maher (Nonpartisan)



- Adrienne Wooten (Nonpartisan)

- David F. Linzey (Nonpartisan)



- Debra Gibbs (Nonpartisan)

- Bryant D. Guy (Nonpartisan)

- Trent L. Walker (Nonpartisan)

- Wendy S. Wilson-White (Nonpartisan)



- Bob Helfrich (Nonpartisan)

- Gay L. Polk-Payton (Nonpartisan)



- Chuck Easley (Nonpartisan)

- James T. Kitchens, Jr. (Nonpartisan)



- P. Trina Davidson Brooks (Nonpartisan)

- Mark A. Cliett (Nonpartisan)

- Michelle Easterling (Nonpartisan)

- Bennie L. Jones, Jr. (Nonpartisan)



- Stephen W. Burrow (Nonpartisan)

- Calvin D. Taylor (Nonpartisan)

- Shon Ellerby (Nonpartisan)